©ALL CONTENT OF THIS WEBSITE IS COPYRIGHTED AND CANNOT BE REPRODUCED WITHOUT THE ADMINISTRATORS CONSENT 2003-2020

Injury

DragonRider

Steroid Nazi
Jan 25, 2004
The shadows of your mind
I guess it was bound to happen sooner or later. I have been pumping iron for 27 years now and I have never had a single injury.
Last night I was doing chest and I warmed up the same way I always do. The only difference was I used 205 for my second warmup set instead of 185. On my first work set I piled 315 on the bar and as soon as I started pushing it off of my chest, I felt something pull loose and my right pec bunched up in a knot. Somehow I was still able to rack the bar, which is a good thing because I work out at home and most of my life I have worked out alone. That freaked me out, so I immediately went to the emergency room to see if I was going to have to have surgery to reattach the muscle.
The doctor says it was a minor tear and that it would basically heal itself by reattaching to the muscle with scar tissue. Oddly enough there is very little pain. I was sent home to ice the area and prescribed some ibuprofen for pain and to reduce swelling. Today the muscle is all swollen up and my outer pec and upper arm are purple. I'm going to be forced to take time off to heal up which I hate doing and I was making good progress lately. This will also cause me to start back slow on my chest which I also hate doing. Freaken injuries!

tee

AnaSCI VET
Feb 6, 2004
USA
That sucks! I hope you feel better soon. I can barely lift my right arm today and all I did was sleep on it wrong. Gee, aren't the golden years swell? :D

TexasCreed

One Cocky S.O.B.
Oct 6, 2004
Texas
damn, sorry pops, i mean dragon. shit, im already hurt as well, my right rhomboid is giving me hell.

mer707

Nov 15, 2004
sorry to hear that dragon, were you training intense or what? if you were able to rack the weight im guessing it wasnt too heavy for you.

DragonRider

Steroid Nazi
Jan 25, 2004
The shadows of your mind